Follow

How To: Manage Pending Users

 

A pending user is any user who has (within the last 14 days) given us their details to join the system to receive Alert messages, but whose account has not yet been activated.

To see the pending users in your area, log into your account and ensure that you are on the home screen.

On the centre menu is a yellow section called “Action List”. This is the section where you can address issues which are preventing registered members from being able to receive messages.

Click on “Pending users”:

1.png

A list will be displayed (headed “Recent Registrations”) of people who have joined your Alert site in the preceding 14 days and is ordered with the most recently registered at the top of the list:

2.png

The list shows the name of the person, the date they registered and how long until their account is suspended (this will be 14 days after registration if their account is still to be activated).

If an account is added to the system with an email address the system will automatically send them a verification email. This will contain a link to click to confirm that we have the correct email address for the person and that they are able to receive messages from us.

As soon as the link in the email is clicked the system will update their account to show that it has been verified and the account will be marked as active, removing the user from the pending users list.

A cross in the email “confirmed” column shows that they HAVE given an email address, but that it has not yet been verified.

The number to the right of the cross indicates how many times they have been sent a verification email

If you wish to see the user’s details, you can click the “eye” symbol to be taken to their “full user editor”.

3.png

If you wish to send the user another verification email, this can be done simply by clicking the “envelope” symbol.

4.png

If a user has still not verified their email address (if given) within 14 days, they will be transferred to the “suspended users” section.

While it is mandatory for a user to give at least one contact method when they join the system, it doesn’t have to include an email address. If a user has not given us an email address for them, this will be indicated by “n/a” in the “email confirmed” column.

5.png

In this situation, if you do nothing, the account will not be made active and so they will not be able to receive messages; such users need to be manually activated.

You need therefore to go their account details (via the “eye” symbol).

Assuming that there is what looks to be a correct name and address and that there is a valid method of contact showing on their account, you can click the “manually activate” button to activate this person’s account.

6.png

If you feel it is appropriate for the account to be removed from that system (perhaps if the given name or address information looks to be made up, or there are multiple signups from the same person), you can click the “timer” icon to start an automated removal process.

7.png

If you wish their details to be removed straight away, click the “eye” symbol to go into their account, scroll down to the “Account status” section and click the “delete user account” button – you will be prompted to leave a note as to the reason for the removal.

8.png

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.