Follow

How To: Manage Activated & Unverified Users

An “activated & unverified” user is an Alert user whose account has previously been activated but who currently has an unverified email. This is usually the result of a user having changed their registered email address at some point after their account had been registered and activated.
Users who are “activated & unverified” are not able to receive regular Alert messages but can log in to their accounts.
To see any “activated & unverified” users, log into your account and ensure that you are on the home screen.
On the centre menu is a yellow section called “Action List”. This is the section where you can address issues which are preventing registered members from being able to receive messages.
There is not a direct shortcut to the “activated & unverified” users on the Action List, but it can be easily accessed.
Click on “pending users”:

1.png

This will bring up the list of pending users, on a page with tabs that take you to options for “suspended users”, “pending deletion” and “activated & unverified”.

Click on the “activated & unverified” tab.

2.png

If there are any “activated & unverified” users on your Alert site, a list will be displayed of people who currently fit that description.

The list is ordered with the most recently registered at the top of the list and shows the person’s name and the date they originally registered on the system (not the date on which they became “activated & unregistered)”. The list will also be split by the Alert website on which they are registered, with the site you administer first, followed by other sites with users in your area.

3.png

The options available to you are the same as for pending users:

If you wish to see the user’s details, you can click the “eye” symbol to be taken to their “full user editor”:

4.png

If you wish to send the user another verification email, this can be done simply by clicking the “envelope” symbol (the number after the “X” in the “email confirmed” column indicates how many times they have already been sent a verification email).

5.png

People who have the “activated & unverified” status are those who are previous users of the system, often longstanding, who have simply changed their registered email address, so are different from those who have recently registered but not yet verified their email addresses.

Because of that, it is unlikely to be appropriate to remove their accounts just because their email address is unverified. It may be more appropriate to try to contact them another way to check that the new email address is correct or see if there is a anything preventing them clicking the verification links.

If you think the user details should be removed, you can do this either by clicking the “timer” symbol to start the removal process.

6.png

If you believe the account should be removed straight away, click the “eye” symbol to go into their account, scroll down to the “Account status” section and click the “delete user account” button – you will be prompted to leave a note as to the reason for the removal.

 

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.