Follow

How To: Manage Suspended Users

A suspended user is any user who has given us their details to join the system (over 14 days ago) to receive Alert messages, but whose account has not yet been activated.
To see the suspended users in your area, log into your account and ensure that you are on the home screen.
On the centre menu is a yellow section called “Action List”. This is the section where you can address issues which are preventing registered members from being able to receive messages.
Click on “Suspended users”:

1.png

A list will be displayed (headed “Suspended accounts”) of people who have joined your Alert site more than 14 days ago and is ordered with the most recently registered at the top of the list:

2.png

The list shows the name of the person, the date they registered and how many days since their account was suspended (users’ accounts are suspended 14 days after registration if their account is still to be activated).
If an account is added to the system with an email address the system will automatically send them a verification email. This will contain a link to click to confirm that we have the correct email address for the person and that they are able to receive messages from us.
As soon as the link in the email is clicked the system will update their account to show that it has been verified and the account will be marked as active. If the link is not clicked within 14 days of registration the user’s account will be suspended, but, as for pending users, can still be rectified.
A cross in the email “confirmed” column shows that they HAVE given an email address, but that it has not yet been verified.
The number to the right of the cross indicates how many times they have been sent a verification email
If you wish to see the user’s details, you can click the “eye” symbol to be taken to their “full user editor”.

3.png

If you wish to send the user another verification email, this can be done simply by clicking the “envelope” symbol.

4.png

While it is mandatory for a user to give at least one contact method when they join the system, it doesn’t have to include an email address. If a user has not given us an email address for them, this will be indicated by “n/a” in the “email confirmed” column.

5.png

In this situation, if you do nothing, the account will not be made active and so they will not be able to receive messages; such users need to be manually activated.
You need therefore to go their account details (via the “eye” symbol).
Assuming that there is what looks to be a correct name and address and that there is a valid method of contact showing on their account, you can click the “manually activate” button to activate this person’s account.

6.png

Ideally these actions will be done before the user account becomes suspended, so as to minimise the gap between registration and the account being activated, but can be done thereafter.
If an account is not activated within a reasonable amount of time after registration (having being given opportunity by the resending of verification email), it may be prudent to remove their details from the system.
To do so you can click the “timer” icon to start an automated removal process.

7.png

If you think the user details should be removed straight away, click the “eye” symbol to go into their account, scroll down to the “Account status” section and click the “delete user account” button – you will be prompted to leave a note as to the reason for the removal.

8.png

It is good practice to regularly revisit the suspended users and remove any accounts that have not been activated within a reasonable amount of time after registration – this helps ensure that the data we hold for people is current and accurate.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.